General

2022 Best Cheap Car Insurance in Utah

2022 Best Cheap Car Insurance in Utah

Utah Auto Insurance Laws

Here are some auto insurance laws in Utah that all drivers should be aware of:

Utah is a debt-free state

Utah is a debt-free auto insurance state. This means that in the event of an accident, both drivers will typically bill their own insurance company for the associated medical costs, regardless of who caused the accident. Drivers living in no-fault states must purchase personal injury protection (PIP) to cover these costs.

Consequences for Driving Without Car Insurance in Utah

Drivers who skip Utah’s mandatory minimum auto insurance policy may face the following penalties:

  • Fines up to $400 for a first violation and up to $1,000 for subsequent violations within three years
  • Suspension of vehicle registration
  • Driving license suspension

Minimum Coverage Requirements in Utah

All drivers in Utah must have at least the following auto insurance coverage:

Personal Injury Liability Cover

Drivers must carry at least:

  • $25,000 in personal injury liability coverage per person
  • $65,000 in Accident Personal Injury Liability Coverage

Property Damage Liability Coverage

In addition, drivers must have at least $15,000 in property liability coverage. This pays for all property that the policyholder damages in an accident.

Personal Injury (PIP)

Drivers in Utah also require a minimum of $3,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) to help them pay for medical expenses if they are injured in an accident.

How to Get Cheap Car Insurance in Utah

Drivers looking for the cheapest auto insurance in Utah should try the following:

  • Shop: Car insurers have their own formulas for determining rates. The only way to know how much they charge a specific driver is to compare quotes.
  • Grab as many discounts as possible: Most insurers automatically apply auto insurance discounts, but there may be some that require drivers to sign up. For example, some companies give discounts to drivers who enroll in a driver control program.
  • Choose a higher deductible: Increasing auto insurance deductibles lowers monthly premium costs.

Other things to consider when looking for car insurance in Utah

Here are a few other things motorists should consider when buying auto insurance in Utah:

Utah has one of the lowest percentages of uninsured drivers in the nation

According to the Insurance Information Institute, only about 6.5% of drivers in Utah are uninsured. This is the ninth lowest percentage in the nation. But that does not mean that an accident with an uninsured driver is impossible. Those who do not want to pay out of pocket in this scenario should consider adding uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to their policy.

The cover for uninsured motorists compensates damage if the policyholder is hit by an uninsured driver. Underinsured motorist coverage comes into effect if the defaulting driver’s insurance is not sufficient to cover all damages.

State minimum coverage is often not enough

As in most states, Utah’s minimum coverage is primarily aimed at protecting other drivers from the policyholder. It does not protect the policyholder’s vehicle if it causes an accident or is involved in a single-vehicle accident. Drivers will need a collision and comprehensive coverage if they don’t want to pay for these repairs themselves.

Collision coverage pays for vehicle repairs required as a result of a single-vehicle accident or accident where the policyholder is at fault. Comprehensive coverage covers damage from bad weather, theft, vandalism and animal-vehicle collisions.