Mark Caacbay’s 1997 Honda Civic is the Best in Show winner of the Island Summer Auto Fest in 2022 | News

Mark Caacbay's 1997 Honda Civic is the Best in Show winner of the Island Summer Auto Fest in 2022 |  News

MARK Caacbay’s 1997 custom Honda Civic DX won the Best in Show Award from the 2022 Island Summer Auto Fest at the Marianas Business Plaza Saturday.

James Fleming, the event organizer, thanked all sponsors, participants and spectators for making this year’s event a success. It was the eighth car festival on the island that continued to draw hundreds of car and motorcycle enthusiasts to Saipan.

As with previous events, this year’s car party had “an amazing turnout,” Fleming said, adding that they are already looking forward to next year’s party.

This year’s competition categories include two-door, four-door, trucks, 4×4, cafe bike, cruiser bike, VIP style, classics, scooter/moped, sound off and burnout.

Caacbay’s car also topped the two-door category with Henry X’s 2017 Nissan in second and Richard Angeles’ 2012 Nissan in third.

Caacbay also received the Best Brand Award from Joeten Motors for his presentation.

Casey Hulingasta’s 2018 Honda Civic beat the many other entries in the four-door race. The 2018 Mazda 3 of Rich Ramos and Kloney Virrey finished in second place, while the 1998 Honda Civic of Jerome M. Ortiguerra finished in third place.

In the 4×4 category, Jesse Jack Salas’ 2008 Jeep Wrangler took first place; Robert Cruz’ 2018 Toyota Tacoma came in second; and David Lizama’s 2019 Toyota Tacoma came in third.

Roman Reyes’ 1991 Toyota pickup topped the truck category, while Gino Dela Cruz’s 1973 Datsun took second and Jordan N. Basa’s 1992 Toyota Hilux third.

JT Ada’s 2008 Scion XB took the top prize in the VIP style category; Manny Ada’s 2002 Lexus GS300 was second; and Christopher Q. Meyers’ Genesis G80 2021 came in third.

Justine Zapata’s 2010 Toyota 4Runnner dominated the sound-off contest, taking first place. Jhun Echaure’s 2017 Hyundai Tucson came in second, while Gerard Indalecio’s 2008 Scion XB took third.

In the cruising bike category, Juan Pocaigue’s 1997 modified Harley Davidson took first place; Mark Borja’s 2007 Harley Davidson Softail Deluxe came in second; and Nathaniel Torres’ 2020 Harley Davidson came in third.

In the scooter category, JT Ada’s 2004 Honda Ruckus took first place, while Russell Hocog’s 2018 Honda Grom took second.

Mark Loue Oria’s 2016 Motoguzzi U7 Special was the only competitor – and the winner – in the cafe bike category.

Christopher Meyers received the Best Brand Award from Triple J for his Hyundai Genesis, while David Lizama received the Best Brand Award from Atkins Kroll for his Toyota Tacoma.