Stock Car Racing: Siercks back on top at NCS – Brainerd Dispatch

Stock Car Racing: Siercks back on top at NCS - Brainerd Dispatch

BARROWS — With five weeks completed into the 2022 racing season, Northern Sportmod driver David Siercks made his first appearance of the season on the winner’s stand after winning the 15-lap main event on Saturday, June 5 at North Central Speedway.

Siercks started in seventh place in the field of 19 cars. His son Tim started in sixth position and moved into the lead for the first half of the race. David Siercks was patient and picked his spots to go through traffic and overtake Tim half way through. He held on to grab the checkered flag.

Although it was David’s first win of the season, he was well known for waving the checkered flag throughout his 40-plus season racing career, including a 2018 track championship.

Since 1982, he has not won a feature event for just one season. As far as Siercks can remember, that may have been when he made a switch in class.

“That sounds about right,” he said. “As far as I can remember, I can’t remember not winning one.”

Patience is one of Siercks’ greatest developments during his racing career.

In 2018, he won just two races out of 16 chances, but finished in the top five 15 times en route to the track championship. He admits it was a skill he acquired through years of learning.

“I haven’t always had that,” said Siercks. “My father was a mentor. He raced for 15 years and he taught me a lot. I just learned a lot over the years. I used to be a lot more aggressive as I got older, I got more patience because I didn’t get on every night the car wanted to work. With more patience I won many more races.”

Now he races with his son Tim and cousin Chris. Tim drives the DIRT car.

“It’s fun to race with my son,” said David. If he won, I wouldn’t care. I would be as happy as can be, but we assume that whoever has the best car has the best chance of winning and that’s how we compete against each other every week.”

40 years ago he would transport his car on a trailer behind a pick-up truck. He now puts the car in a trailer behind a camper. What hasn’t changed is that his name is in the top five of the leaderboard most nights.

It was also a meeting night with young fans getting autographs from their favorite drivers. Candy and bicycles were also given away.

Erick Thiesse and Shawn Fletcher competed for first place in the Modified position. Thiesse held off Fletcher for his first win of the season, but Fletcher is three points ahead of Zackry Fletcher and six points over Aaron Johnson in the points standings.

Johnson’s night was cut short due to damage to the front of his car. IMCA rules allowed Johnson to keep running as long as no other warning flags were thrown, but another warning flag was thrown later in the race.

Brett Hines was also involved in a hard crash early in the race in the first corner, but got out of his car and walked away.

Dylan Nelson took his second win of the season for the Super Stock class. He is 35 points ahead of Austin Niemeyer, who finished in second place.

Nathan Kohl won his fourth race for the Sport Compact class in five attempts. Other winners were Tim Gonska for the Stock Car and Robert Holtquist in the Mod Fours.

Tim Otterness’ hot streak continued with his second win in two weeks in the Hobby Stock class.

IMCA Expert Insulation Customized

Function: 1-Erick Thiesse, 2-Shawn Fletcher, 3-Luke Hines

Heat 1: 1-Luke Hines, 2-AJ Viehauser, 3-Brett Hines

Heat 2: 1-Shawn Fletcher, 2-Aaron Johnson, 3-Erick Thiesse

Function: 1-Dylan Nelson, 2-Austin Niemeyer, 3-Dustin Nelson

Heat 1: 1-Austin Niemeyer, 2-Dustin Nelson, 3-Andrew Johnson

Heat 2: 1-Dylan Nelson, 2-Jim Urseth, 3-Tommy Patton

Feature: 1-David Siercks, 2-Tim Bergerson, 3-Jake Hagemann

Heat 1: 1-Tim Bergerson, 2-Mark Martini, 3-Dustin Joel

Heat 2: 1-Jake Hagemann, 2-Luke Ryan, 3-David SiercksHeat 3: 1-Tim Siercks, 2-Adam Bohlman, 3-Devon Charpenter

Feature: 1-Robert Holtquist, 2-Nick McCann, 3-Josh Litzau

Heat 1: 1-Dustin Holtquist, 2-Tommy Bawden, 3-Robert Holtquist

Heat 2: 1-Skyler Smith, 2-Gerrald Nohner, 3-Nick McCann

Feature: 1-Tim Gonska, 2-Troy Jordan, 3-Alex Dostal

Heat 1: 1-Tim Gonska, 2-Kris Peterson, 3-Dave Johnson

Feature: 1-Tim Otterness, 2-Tom Anderson, 3-Brandon Bombardo

Heat 1: 1-Tim Otterness, 2-Jazlyn Nelson, 3-Cory Lodermeier

Heat 2: 1-Chad Visser, 2-Bryon Britton, 3-Chase Peterson

Function: 1-Nathan Kohl, 2-Josh Masleski, 3-Brandon Nyberg

Heat 1: 1-Nathan Kohl, 2-Josh Maleski, 3-Jenna Hagemann

Heat 2: 1-Ellen Lange, 2-Dan Ranum, 3-Brandon Nyberg

window.fbAsyncInit = function() {

appId : ‘290544173094708’,

xfbml : true,
version : ‘v2.9’

(function(d, s, id){
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) {return;}
js = d.createElement(s); = id;
js.src = “”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));