Which car number has the most NASCAR Cup wins?

Which car number has the most NASCAR Cup wins?

Erik Jones scored the 200th NASCAR Cup Series win of the #43 car at Darlington Raceway on Sunday. But which car number has the most?

Despite not being one of 16 drivers to qualify for the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series playoffs, Petty GMS Motorsports has Erik Jones took the checkered flag to win the Cook Out Southern 500 playoff opening at Darlington Raceway Sunday night.

The win marked the first time 26-year-old Michigan native Byron won the 2019 Southern 500 while still competing for Joe Gibbs Racing.

Prior to Jones’ third career win, the number 43 car, made famous by the legendary Richard Petty, hadn’t been in the victory lane since July 2014, when Aric Almirola took his 199th win in a rain-shortened race at Daytona International Speedway.

Jones is the seventh driver to win a race in the #43 car, the car number responsible for more starts (2,196) than any other car number in Cup Series history.

Petty, co-owner of the car Jones drives, won a record 200 races during his Cup Series career, including 192 at the wheel of the #43 car.

Two drivers, Jim Paschal and Bobby Hamilton, each won two races in the #43 car. Lee Petty and John Andretti each won one, as did Almirola.

But with 200 wins, the #43 car is not the winning car number in Cup Series history. That title goes to the #11 car, which has 228 wins in 2,123 starts.

Only two other car numbers have even racked up 100 career wins, and both rank at 101: the #2 car and the #3 car.

Here’s a list of the 10 most winning numbers in Cup Series history.

  1. #11 car – 228 wins
  2. #43 car – 200 wins
  3. #2 car – 101 wins
  4. #3 car – 101 wins
  5. #24 car – 97 wins
  6. #21 car – 92 wins
  7. #48 car – 91 wins
  8. #22 car – 85 wins
  9. #6 car – 83 wins
  10. #4 car – 82 wins

With the #18 car in 11th place with 80 wins, nine of the top 11 winning car numbers of all time have found the victory lane in the first 27 races of the 2022 season. These nine numbers are responsible for 13 wins this year.

The only two car numbers on this list that haven’t found a victory lane in 2022 are car No. 21, which last won in June 2017 at Pocono Raceway with Wood Brothers Racing’s Ryan Blaney, and car No. 6, which was for most recently won at Daytona International Speedway in July 2011 with Roush Fenway Racing’s David Ragan.

Harrison Burton currently drives the #21 Ford for Wood Brothers Racing and Brad Keselowski currently drives the #6 Ford for RFK Racing.

Notably, another win for the #21 car would be the 100th win for the Wood Brothers.